The school was established when the former Kaki Bukit Primary
moved to its present location at Bedok Reservoir Road on 2 September 1984 and was renamed
BEDOK WEST PRIMARY SCHOOL.
The school was officially opened on 16 July 1986 by Mr. Zulkifli Bin Mohammed, who was at
that time, the Political Secretary, Ministry of Community Development and Member of
Parliament for Eunos Constituency.
Mr. Mohd. Yunus Ikhsan, Principal of the then Kaki
Bukit Primary School became the first Principal of Bedok West Primary. Mr. Choo Eng Hock
took over the school as Principal when Mr. Yunus retired in July 1989. Mrs. Angelina Thng,
the incumbent Principal, has headed the school since 4 February 1994. She is assisted by
Miss Tan Kah Eng who was posted to the school as Vice-Principal on 2 May 1995.
The school consists of seven blocks which house 34 classrooms, 4 mother tongue rooms
and 10 special rooms. There are 2 well-equipped computer rooms, 2 music rooms, a science
room, a learning support programme room, a ceramic room, a library and an AVA room.
For many years, the school functioned as a single session school. Towards the end of
1995, there was a demand for more places and the school had to function both sessions. The
double-session school offers all the three Mother Tongue languages, viz. Chinese, Malay
and Tamil. Its pupil population, which has increased in the last few years, is 1468 in 40
The school serves pupils living in Bedok area and the neighbouring areas such as Eunos,
Tampines, Pasir Ris and Changkat Changi.
The School Crest
The Principal, Mrs Angelina Thng
The School Compound and ECAs